Home > Other > Proper IRC etiquette

Proper IRC etiquette

Hi, I’m back — it’s me, cranky mriet!

I show up now and then when calmer mriet can’t take it anymore.

Today’s topic is how to behave on IRC.

  1. Please be patient. I know it’s hard to imagine, but some of us actually are not sitting around waiting for you to ping us on IRC.
  2. Please be polite. If we were all sitting around a table outside, you wouldn’t just start shooting questions at me, out of nowhere, would you?
  3. Remember, this is text, which means minor nuances are easily lost. So please, stay friendly and polite, even if you think someone is being nasty.
  4. Please only ping me once: most people on IRC have their clients set up so that it will flash or alert them once you type in their nick. Repeatedly pinging me comes across as childish.
  5. Grow a thick skin. Because you’ll need it.

Here’s a list of things that I will respond badly too. I’ve just discovered the /ignore command, and I’m going to start using it.

  • Private messaging me when you’re not someone who I talk to regularly — especially if it’s a technical question that can be asked on an open channel.
  • Popping onto an IRC, asking a question, and then disappearing 2 minutes later.
  • Not saying “Good morning/afternoon/evening!” It’s a very little thing to do, and it will mean a lot.
  • Spewing text at me when I haven’t asked for it.

I’m sure there’s more, I’ll just have to re-edit this entry later when I run into them.

Categories: Other
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

